November 14, 2011

Who Are The Chicago Region’s Most Committed Small Business Lenders

In today’s tough economic environment, there are banks making loans to small businesses. The banks that are actively committed to small business lending deserve all of our recognition and support, as they are focused on our community, helping unemployment, and regional growth.

 

MultiFunding has compiled our first annual list of The Chicago Region’s Most Committed Small Business Lenders. The 83 lenders included in the ranking are based in Cook, Du Page and Lake Counties. They are all regulated by the FDIC and have a minimum of $100,000,000 of deposits as of June 30, 2011. In order to rank them, each bank's small business loans, as reported in their FDIC call reports, are divided by their deposits. Small business loans are defined as loans with a balance of $1 million or less.

 

How can we measure a bank’s commitment to small business?  At MultiFunding, we believe that the data that the banks report to the FDIC on a quarterly basis about their outstanding loans of $1,000,000 or less is an excellent barometer of main street lending.  With this statistic, if there is a loan outstanding with a balance of $1,000,000 or less, it counts.  The aggregate number is affected by a number of factors including loans that go bad, loans that are paid now, loans that the bank insists leave, attrition, and new loans. 

 

The range of commitment to Small Business lending among the banks in the survey is dramatic. Austin Bank of Chicago, the top ranked bank in our ranking, leverages 54.78% of their deposits to make small business loans. In contrast, Harris National Association and Northern Trust Company, two of the lowest ranked banks in the survey, utilize 4.12% and 1.35% of their deposits respectively to make small business loans.

For a complete listing of all the data please click here.

Ranking NAME CITY Ratio Website
1 Austin Bank of Chicago Chicago 54.78% http://abcbank.net
2 The Foster Bank Chicago 38.29% http://www.fosterbank.com
3 Itasca Bank & Trust Co. Itasca 30.90% http://www.itascabank.com
4 Metrobank Berwyn 30.52% https://www.citizenscommunitybank-il.com
5 Forest Park National Bank and Trust Company Forest Park 28.87% http://www.forestparkbank.com
6 Plaza Bank, Norridge, Illinois Norridge 25.51% https://www.plazabankillinois.com
7 Beverly Bank & Trust Company, National Association Chicago 25.43% http://www.thebeverlybank.com
8 American Chartered Bank Schaumburg 23.55% http://www.americanchartered.com
9 Advantage National Bank Elk Grove Villag 23.39% http://www.advantagenationalbank.com
10 Cornerstone National Bank & Trust Company Palatine 23.30% http://www.cornerstonenb.com
11 Albany Bank and Trust Company National Association Chicago 22.85% http://www.albanybank.com
12 International Bank of Chicago Chicago 22.22% http://www.inbk.com
13 Village Bank and Trust Arlington Height 22.06% http://www.bankatvillage.com
14 Providence Bank, LLC South Holland 21.52% http://providencebank.com
15 Libertyville Bank & Trust Company Libertyville 21.04% http://www.libertyvillebank.com
16 Republic Bank of Chicago Oak Brook 20.53% http://www.republicebank.com
17 Barrington Bank & Trust Company, National Association Barrington 20.35% http://www.barringtonbank.com
18 State Bank of the Lakes Antioch 20.21% http://www.sbotl.com
19 Community Bank-Wheaton/Glen Ellyn Glen Ellyn 20.10% http://www.cbwge.com
20 Lakeside Bank Chicago 19.76% http://www.lakesidebank.com
21 Premier Bank Wilmette 19.64% https://www.premierbank.us
22 Archer Bank Chicago 19.52% https://www.archerbank.com
23 First Bank & Trust Evanston 19.35% http://www.firstbt.com
24 Devon Bank Chicago 18.94% http://www.devonbank.com
25 North Community Bank Chicago 18.76% https://www.northcommunitybank.com
26 Oak Bank Chicago 18.63% http://www.oakbank.com
27 First Nations Bank Chicago 18.63% http://fnbwbank.com
28 Seaway Bank and Trust Company Chicago 18.34% http://www.seawaybank.us
29 First Midwest Bank Itasca 17.96% http://www.firstmidwest.com
30 Norstates Bank Waukegan 17.76% https://www.norstatesbank.com
31 South Central Bank, National Association Chicago 17.55% http://www.banksouthcentral.com
32 First Bank of Highland Park Highland Park 17.45% http://www.firstbankhp.com
33 State Bank of Illinois West Chicago 16.47% https://www.mysbi.com
34 Northbrook Bank and Trust Company Northbrook 16.16% http://www.northbrookbank.com
35 First Eagle  Bank Hanover Park 14.98% http://www.febank.com
36 Signature Bank Chicago 14.86% http://www.signatureny.com
37 Hinsdale Bank & Trust Company Hinsdale 14.40% http://www.hinsdalebank.com
38 Oxford Bank & Trust Oak Brook 13.90% http://www.oxford-bank.com
39 America United Bank and Trust Company USA Schaumburg 13.88% http://www.aubt.com
40 Pan American Bank Chicago 13.86% http://www.panamerbank.com
41 West Suburban Bank Lombard 13.55% https://www.westsuburbanbank.com
42 First National Bank of Brookfield Brookfield 13.51% http://www.fnbb.com
43 American Enterprise Bank Buffalo Grove 13.27% https://www.americanenterprisebank.com
44 First Security Trust and Savings Bank Elmwood Park 13.15% https://www.fstsb.com
45 First National Bank of Illinois Lansing 12.97% http://www.fnbiweb.com
46 Standard Bank and Trust Company Hickory Hills 12.92% http://www.standardbanks.com
47 Lake Forest Bank and Trust Company Lake Forest 12.75% http://www.lakeforestbank.com
48 The National Republic Bank of Chicago Chicago 12.32% https://www.nrbchicago.com
49 Northside Community Bank Gurnee 11.74% http://nscombank.com
50 Suburban Bank & Trust Company Elmhurst 11.70% https://www.sbtbanknow.com
51 Inland Bank & Trust Oak Brook 11.53% http://www.inlandbank.com
52 Bridgeview Bank Group Bridgeview 11.06% http://bridgeviewbank.com
53 MB Financial Bank, National Association Chicago 10.75% http://www.mbfinancial.com
54 Baytree National Bank & Trust Company Lake Forest 10.66% http://www.baytreebank.com
55 First National Bank of La Grange La Grange 9.97% https://www.fnblg.com
56 First Chicago Bank & Trust Chicago 9.96% https://www.firstchicago.com
57 Wheaton Bank & Trust Wheaton 9.74% http://www.wheatonbank.com
58 Great Lakes Bank, National Association Blue Island 9.55% https://www.bankofchoice.com
59 The Leaders Bank Oak Brook 9.31% https://www.leadersbank.com
60 North Shore Community Bank & Trust Company Wilmette 8.79% http://www.nscbank.com
61 Delaware Place Bank Chicago 8.42% https://www.delawareplacebank.com
62 Community Bank of Oak Park River Forest Oak Park 8.23% https://www.cboprf.com
63 Park Ridge Community Bank Park Ridge 8.10% http://www.timetobank.com
64 Urban Partnership Bank Chicago 8.09% https://www.upbnk.com
65 Community Savings Bank Chicago 7.92% http://www.communitysavingsbank.com
66 The PrivateBank and Trust Company Chicago 7.48% http://www.theprivatebank.com
67 Parkway Bank and Trust Company Harwood Heights 7.09% https://www.parkwaybank.com
68 Marquette Bank Chicago 6.80% http://emarquettebank.com
69 State Bank of Countryside Countryside 6.54% https://www.statebankofcountryside.com
70 Hyde Park Bank and Trust Company Chicago 6.47% http://www.hydeparkbank.net
71 First American Bank Elk Grove Villag 5.62% https://www.firstambank.com
72 Evergreen Bank Group Oak Brook 5.39% https://www.evergreenbankgroup.com
73 Glenview State Bank Glenview 5.15% http://www.gsb.com
74 Cole Taylor Bank Chicago 4.88% http://coletaylor.com
75 Harris National Association CHICAGO 4.12% https://www4.harrisbank.com
76 Lisle Savings Bank Lisle 3.03% http://www.lislebank.com
77 Amalgamated Bank of Chicago Chicago 2.23% http://www.aboc.com
78 The Northern Trust Company CHICAGO 1.35% http://www.northerntrust.com
79 First Bank and Trust Company of Illinois Palatine 0.73% http://www.firstbankillinois.com
80 Hoyne Savings Bank Chicago 0.71% http://hoyne.com
81 Liberty Bank for Savings Chicago 0.60% http://www.libertybank.com
82 First Savings Bank of Hegewisch Chicago 0.02% http://www.fsbhegewisch.com
83 Builders Bank Chicago 0.00% http://buildersbank.com

 

Leave a Reply

 
 
Live support chat software